Customer reviews for A50 Wireless Headset

A50 Wireless Headset

ASTRO Gaming is ready to invade the living room with the wireless A50 Headset. Experience Dolby 7.1 Surround Sound with clarity and performance powered by KleerNet's strongest 5.8Ghz solution available. Hear the difference that professionally tuned audiophile-grade sound makes.
Overall rating:
4.063 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
10
1 Star
12
93 out of 12276%of customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1,175 Questions | 999 Answers
Customer reviews for A50 Wireless Headset
Review 1 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best additive to F.P.S. since the Mixamp Pro

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
JW007
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
The A50s are a simplified version of the A40 wireless .They have a bit heavier feel to them then the A40s . The hands on game/voice balance is amazing for dialing in your voice communication with your team or friends, It's nice that the A50 has auxiliary input so you can loop in your music from your PC or phone.I get about 10-12 hours of gaming from a full charge. I definitely recommend purchasing the longer mini USB to USB cable for charging. This will allow you to play and charge at the same time . The USB cable that is included is bit small unless your gaming at a desk.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+80points
123of 166voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (7)
1 2 next>>
Comments (7)
Customer avatar
LordMars
Cocoa Beach FL.
 
Please wait while more information about LordMars is loaded.
Additional information about LordMars could not be loaded.
A50
Posted August 2, 2013
I bought 2 of the headsets one had the mic problem the other didn't. I solved the mic program by plugging the unit into a USB 3.0 slot. The sound quality is awesome but that is about all that I can say good about this product. The manual doesn't exist nor does the control software that has been promised since the release. The charging cable is way too short so if you want to recharge while you are playing you will have to get a USB cord extension. There is limited online chat technical support but if your problem is really hard you have to contact via e-mail. There is no way to speak to a real live breathing person. For 300.00 I expected more.
+7points
13of 19voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Digg Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
MLGgamer11
the moon
 
Please wait while more information about MLGgamer11 is loaded.
Additional information about MLGgamer11 could not be loaded.
HELP
Posted July 22, 2013
HELP i cant talk to my friends with the mic i need HELP what to do to fix it
-29points
3of 35voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Digg Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
105638
U.S.
 
Please wait while more information about 105638 is loaded.
Additional information about 105638 could not be loaded.
Astro A50's
Posted April 15, 2013
Best headset i have had it beats my old headset and makes gaming so much more fun
+16points
19of 22voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Digg Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Sugarbear
 
Please wait while more information about Sugarbear is loaded.
Additional information about Sugarbear could not be loaded.
Mic
Posted March 28, 2013
just was a massive a disoppiment my Logitech Headset G930 might not have bean better in adieo but the mic was by dar better. normally i wouldent care but i its just drove me nuts
-70points
6of 82voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Digg Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Forsaken
somewhere with alot of girls
 
Please wait while more information about Forsaken is loaded.
Additional information about Forsaken could not be loaded.
AWESOME, but a few things to keep in mind.
Posted February 11, 2013
I got my headset back in November and have been using it ever since. I have not seen the mic problem in this headset that some of the reviewers are talking about. I have always been a mobile pc gamer and both of my laptops have a 3.5mm optical out which I had to get an adapter to be able to use. (funny thing is I ordered the adapter a couple of days before and when I came home with my a50s it was in the mail)
Anyway, I would say these are awesome and you should get one if you are a pc gamer.
> my rigs
Sager np8170 nvidia 680m
Acer aspire 6920g nvidia 9600m gt
I can verify that the a50 headset and mixamp works perfectly with both of these rigs.
****PS. It would be epic if Astro could include an adapter for a 3.5mm optical cable for users like me.*****
+17points
21of 25voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Digg Facebook Twitter
1 2 next>>
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Review 2 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I would get the A40's

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
JDMKyle
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Frequency of use:Weekly
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
Pros:
I got these as a gift and they sound amazing. The 7.1 surround works very well, easy to use controls, pretty comfortable. Great for gaming, music, etc. The battery also seems to last for a reasonable amount of time before needing recharged and you can also use them while plugged in "I would suggest getting a longer usb cable if you're going to do this" and the stand is also a nice touch.
Cons:
Although there are quite a few pros about this headset there are quite a few cons too. The headset feels somewhat cheap for something so expensive. It's got quire a bit of weight to it but I feel they could have done a bit better than plastic on most of the parts but overall decent build quality. People say they have went outside wearing there a50's with no cutout but I don't know about all of that. I walk down my hallway and go into my bathroom and it gets choppy.. even worse when I'm downstairs in my kitchen. The headset is very very heavy on your head. If you lean down the headset will start to slide off your head so this is something to take into consideration.
Conclusion:
So in short the headset is very nice in many ways I wouldn't really say it's worth the money to buy these over say the a40's. The wireless is nice at times but I don't mind wires too much. There are many headsets for a fraction of the cost that will get the job done but if you have the money and absolutely have to have a wireless headset it's not a bad buy if you can look past the short-comings which really aren't all that bad.
Gaming platforms:PC/360/PS3
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product, worth price.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Jack
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
This product is very reliable, durable, and very comfortable. It has excellent sound quality and overall is the perfect headset.
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360, PS3, and PC
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best wireless gaming headset, I've owned!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Kall
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
I usually don't write reviews, but I was really satisfied with this headset. Let's get started: If you're looking for a wireless headset and can afford the A50s, get them...now.
*Sounds quality on these bad boys is crisp, loud and make gaming/watching sci-fi/action movies AMAZING. The bass is quiet strong and the 7.1 Dolby Surrond Sound makes a great difference (I feel as if I'm surrounded/inside the game/movie.) You can hear footsteps, locate where enemies are and shoot'em!
*The fact that it's wireless and compatible with anything that has an optical audio cable or 3.5 mm cable is AMAZING. I can walk around the house and still listen to music (mp3).
*The A-50 looks great and is pretty comfortable. I spent almost 3 hours straight wearing them and haven't felt any discomfort.
"Battery life is awesome, I watched two movies, played around 8 hours and still had some juice left in them. (I charged them every 3-4 days depending on how long I use them)
*Microphone works pretty good, and picks up voices rather well. (Contrary to what I've heard) Just make sure to get the firmware update of the transmitter and the microphone as soon as you get it out of the box.
Overall, I'm pretty satisfied with my purchase, I use my A50 everyday and enjoy every minutes I'm using them. If you're a gamer or someone who watch a lot of movies at home: The A50 is a great addition to your home theather/gaming set-up! It's worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

they are great and are comfortable have great sound in game and chat

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
longy
fromBunbury WA 6230, Australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Casual Gamer
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
they are amazing i love them i use them all the time i prefer them over most headsets and i only have a few problems which are the sounds that go off when it needs charging which i have my chat loud so the sound is loud and the charging amount, i will have to charge these every 2-3 hours of straight usage which is a reasonable amount but i play a bit longer sometimes so it may annoy me. they only take 30 or so minutes to charge and i would defineately recommend this to anyone who is a gamer they are AMAZING!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent headset

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
nathan252l
fromAustralia
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
bought the astro a50 headset a few days ago and i have say best headset i have ever had. i had mic problems but i fixed by updating the firmware and plugging the mixamp to a usb 3.0 port, plugged in the optical cable and now everything is working perfectly. This headset was %100 worth the money, me living in Australia the headset did cost more because of shipping however still worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mic Quality

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer avatar
AshWithAGun
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
This product has great sound quality. It is very comfortable. My one issue is, the output mic is TERRIBLE. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. THIS IS RUINING MY GAMING EXPERIENCE.
Gaming platforms:xbox PC PS3
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

MAYBE NOT SO GREAT

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Spacemarine2142
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
I know this is odd to start off with, but I love my A50s. Unfortunately, this is my second pair I have gone through because the Dolby Digital button on the mix amp always seems to break. I personally, take very good care of the headset AND mix amp, but as I said, second time it has broken. The sound quality is beautiful, the mic is clear as day, but I can not seem to keep a pair working for more than 6 months. Even though I want to recommend this headset to everyone, I can't seem to due to the pain it has put me through. This is why, I give the Astro A50s a 2/5.
Gaming platforms:PC
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost the perfect headset

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
HitMarkerPro
fromAustralia
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
Probably my favourite headset so far. Performs exactly as promised, amazing sound, very comfortable, great wireless range and good battery life. Only downfall is the microphone quality isn't the greatest having complaints from mates on the other end.
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360, PC
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
SSKowboi
fromBruderheim, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
I have used turtle beach and also Tritton and picking up the Astro A50 has been the best choice ever. I can hear things I never thought I could hear before. My response from this increase in sound has helped me and also my teammates for call outs. I recommend Astro to everyone.
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360, PC
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best headset available to man

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer avatar
TunaOfJustice
fromPerth WA, Australia
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
if your a go hard or go home type a guy than this headset is all you need to be imersed in gaming sound heaven, great for games where you need to pick up even the slightest sounds to have the edge. you may think this is pricey but truly. youll be sorry you idnt buy them sooner
Gaming platforms:PC, Xbox
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great aduio

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
HeadShotClan
fromDallas, TX, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
I love the audio it has the comfort is better than turtle beaches
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360, PlayStation 3
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best headset i ever buy

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Mab7771
fromQuebec City, QC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Monthly
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
300$ for it ..? Oh yes baby !!! The sound is awesome !!! And easy to use :-)
Gaming platforms:PC/Xbox
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Headset, Great Microphone. Great Bang for your Buck.

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
wPgRunner
fromOntario, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
Before my purchase of the Astro A50's I had been trying out many headsets and microphone combinations. The Astro A50's are easily the top tier of headset. The distance you can travel with the wireless function is impressive and the overall weight and customizability is perfect for anyone immediate needs.
Features : 5/5 : Has everything you would need for any type of gamer.
Performance : 4/5 : Great performance, few bugs need to be sorted out, but none cause a huge deal of problems or annoyances.
Design : 4/5 : The overall design is great, a removable microphone with a plug to block off the jack entrance could have been a nice addition if hardware allowed for that, otherwise if that was not a possible addition (5/5)
Value : 5/5 : Although these headphones are in the higher price range, I give my word that they have an amazing sound quality, and microphone quality all while being completely wireless (Or wired if you wish to "Charge and Play") As an added bonus, In the future on the website, I would like to see replaceable earpieces (The foam part) for purchase on the website. (Most likely will come into effect soon)
Gaming platforms:PC
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST GAMING HEADSET EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Storm
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
This headset is by far the best, and is very comfortable and looks awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I recommend this to anyone who wants THE best
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Great for its price

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
BigBlue345
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
I've had this headset little over 9 months its a great buy. Its cost 300 but I do have to say it is very worth the price :)
Gaming platforms:PlayStation 3, PC
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It doesnt get any better

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Danny
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
As a gamer, i have always dreamed of owning Astros, and or my bday, my dad came home from best buy with a pair of A50s, and coming from a pair of stereo turtle beaches, the A50 sound quality was just amazing, they are super comfortable, and they feel like two baby sheep pressed against your face. i play on xbox, so i just have 1 wire for chat, but still they are just perfect, plus i like to stream music from my laptop to my xbox, the bass in this headset is just, well, i cant even put it in words. My dad loves them because he doesnt like my FPS games, so i can keep the telescreen on mute and still hear everything in the headset. I love that i can just tap the side of the speaker to adjust the sound, rather than having to reach for the in line thingy and having to mess with it. Well, long story short, get this headset if you dont have it yet.
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A50 Not Responding

PostedJune 30, 2013
Customer avatar
metsfan32494
fromny
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spent $300 on a headset that won't respond. Completely frozen, red LED stays on, won't turn off. Volume wont change (Voice nor game). No fix for this issue yet? I see plenty of people with the same issue and there is no fix. Pathetic if you ask me..
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360
No, I do not recommend this product.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very good... When working. Buy A40, A50 isn't worth it.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve1234321
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
When I first got this headset, I was like "OMG, this thing is awesome". The first time I tried it, the sound was reaaaaally good. But then came all the problems. First of all, it is not wireless on X-Box, not a big deal. The problem is, half the time, the headset just shuts down on its own and I have to restart it everytime. But I don't really care, since I'm not such a hardcore X-Box gamer. The problem is that the headset does the same thing on the PC. It's plugged in the computer, because I don't need it to be wireless right now, so it's not just because it needs to be recharged. It just shuts down, then I restart it, then 1-2 minutes later, it shuts down again, making the headset pretty useless and frustrating. It's not because there I'm not watching anything or because there is no sound (The A50 shuts down after a while when there is no sound, to save battery life), there is just no reason, it should stay on but it goes off.
I even went back to my old headsets, even if the mic doesn't work on it, because I can't play games with friends on skype with the A50, because it will just shut down over and over. Sometimes, my computer (brand new) doesn't detect the headset and I have to take back my old ones.
The headset is just frustrating. The sound is reaaaally good but the headset shuts down on its own so there is not really any sound, making the headset plain dead useless. I wouldn't bother leaving a comment if it was a 20$ headset, but I paid 300$ and I'm really not satisfied, so that's why I think I should leave this comment.
I'm not telling you to buy another brand of headset, because the sound is great on these one, but don't go with the A50, go for another on, less expensive. The A40 looks good.
If you're looking for a wireless headset, as I was, my only advice is to go for a wired headset. It's not worth it, there is always trouble. I was thinking "It's gonna be awesome, I'll be able to watch movies from my couch !" but it's not that great, honestly. It's just frustrating and more expensive.
TL;DR : Don't buy the A50, they're frustrating and shut down half of the time on their own. A40 may be good, idk.
Gaming platforms:X-Box, PC, PS3, Wii, WiiU
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for A50 Wireless Headset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well done Astro, Well done.

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Duckie
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
I've spent countless dollars on headsets trying to find "the perfect fit" so to speak. I believe I went through 5 prior to the purchase of this headset, researching them all and believing their amazing reviews only to be disappointed in the long run. I was weary at first of the A50s because of their daunting price tag, and several bad reviews on the microphone, but was also impressed with the amount of good reviews vs. bad. So I finally made the plunge and have never been happier. The first thing you notice upon receiving the headset is the care taken just in packaging it, which is always a good sign. After unpacking them the set up is a breeze and you're ready to game! The next realization you will come to is the sound on this headset is amazing, and thanks to recent updates the microphone works very well also (When compared to other headset microphones, trying to compare this to a stand alone microphone would be ludicrous). Once they're on the headset is barely noticeable and lasts for hours before needing a charge, which can be offset even further with the play and charge cable. Although they're a bit steep you get what you pay for.
One of the only problems I've run into is an operator error, occasionally I'll adjust the headset to full game sound or vice versa and it will take a second to figure out why I'm not getting sound. Gotta pay attention to where you have this set.
The guidelines explicitly state to avoid writing about customer service, but I'll move forward to say although there is no way to contact Astro via telephone, they respond with due diligence and make things right.
Astro has won a customer for life in me, and I hope I was thorough enough to help others make the right choice, the Astro choice.
TLDR; The headset is amazing. Buy it now.
Gaming platforms:PC, Xbox 360, Wii, PS3
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
MA 5.8 OPTICAL CABLE
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>