Customer reviews for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition

A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition

The 2013 ASTRO A40 headset lets you game like a pro more than ever before.
Overall rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
4 out of 944%of customers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
89 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer reviews for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Review 1 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

does not like chairs

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
crusherkk
fromOhio, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Casual Gamer
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
iv had this head set for a few months with no probs. except the fact every time i move my chair the cord get stuck (i usually do not notice this)then when i move to get out of my chair the headset is ripped to the floor the build quality is good and flexible but hen exposed to the shock it cracks my head set is now unusable. besides this it is the best iv ever had in every other category(the mic it a bit lose i just warped it in a rubber band to add some friction)if u want this head set i suggest to get the wireless version or go somewhere else to get a head set.(if you chaise does not roll then get this head set)
Gaming platforms:pc,ps3,wii
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke in less than a month

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Riku4259
fromMiami, FL, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
I have had these headphones for almost a month and one day suddenly there was no sound coming from the left side of the headphones. Another thing to add is that about the same time the headphones broke on the left side the volume from the right side turned down and I could barley hear anything
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall a good headset and worth the money that you pay for it

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Jon920
fromCanada
Age:I'd rather not say
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
I just got this headset and i already love it. The fact that i can have my PC and my Xbox hooked up at the same time and never have to switch a bunch of stuff around just to have one working and the other one on standby makes my life so much easier. The 7.1 surround sound is amazing and i can't believe its on a headset that seems so small. The mixed amp is Alright as in its annoying to have just sitting there but the function of it makes it important to have for this headset. the only thing i would recommend doing is changing the ear cups to a leather or having the function of having them both when you buy the product for the person to choose which one he likes more.
Gaming platforms:PC, Xbox, Playstation
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not waste your money on this product.

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
JDWest
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
I bought this product after hearing good things about it. After a week the mic stop working. After a day the boom mic wouldn't stay up right and kept sliding down. The sound quality is average, although they are very comfortable this is not a very good product
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Voltage
fromAiken, SC, USA
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
I owned the wireless edition from 2011 and sold those so i could get the 2013 edition. I loved the wireless ones and i love the A40 2013 edition. They are worth the money. I do wish they had more colors.
Gaming platforms:Xbox. PC
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

2 headsets and they cant even last a month

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
BrandonD93
fromRegina, SK, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
So i had purchased my first pair of A40 headset at my local gaming store from the recomendation of the employee there who seemed to know alot about them so i purchased them over buying a pair of Triton's. The performance was unbeliveable and set up was very easy. After about a month of usage for about maybe 2 hours a day they died on me with no sound of microphone usage. I had returned them and got another pair and for not even two weeks after i bought them the sound would always cut out and force me to turn off my mix amp and turn it back on so it would start working again for only 2 minutes so it only stop working again. paying top dollar for a headset like this and i cant even get more than a months use out of it before it starts to break down. It may be the best headset I have used performance wise withthe sound quality wise but as per the length of the workability of the product completely threw me off.
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360
No, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
9of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Headset if you are trying to purchase something that is 2 years old

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
upsetastro
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not comfortable at all
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
I received my headset two days ago and it has worked wonderfully. The only problem is that it is not the headset I thought I paid $200 for. What Astro does not tell you is that if you buy the a40 headset your actually buying the 2011 edition which does not have the upgraded speakers or cable system. So now I have to return my product pay shipping both ways and still not have the new 2013 Astro a40's. Be careful what you purchase from Astro they seem rather conniving.
Gaming platforms:PC, Xbox 360, PS3, Mac, N64
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
29of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best All Around Headset I've Owned

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Komakala
fromUS
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Expert
Gaming Experience:Gaming Enthusiast
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not comfortable at all
comfortable
very comfortable
I originally purchased this for the ability to use it with PC, Xbox 360 and Ps3. Unfortunately I hit a few hiccups with the Xbox side, I had amazing audio but the microphone made some weird noises that annoyed my party members. So I went to using a standard MS mic while wearing the A40 headset for surround sound. Where the headset really shined was my pc. I have it jacked in via an optical out and have amazing sound quality. Other than the microphone issues my only complaint is the adapter that plugs into the various plugs has developed a short, if I bump the cable I risk losing audio in one ear. Granted I've had the headset for roughly 4 years now, and the short is a recent development.
Despite my issues I'd highly recommend this headset to someone looking for high end sound quality.
Gaming platforms:PC, PS3, XBOX 360
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for A40 PC Headset - ASTRO Edition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You get what you pay for, Seriously.

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Matthew
fromPennsylvania, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Frequency of use:Daily
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Gaming Experience:Competitive Gamer
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not comfortable at all
very comfortable
very comfortable
Comfort, superb sound and great compatibility with many other devices. A must buy.
Gaming platforms:Xbox 360
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jasmin
MTl, Qc
 
Please wait while more information about Jasmin is loaded.
Additional information about Jasmin could not be loaded.
A40 the best wired headset possible.
Posted January 9, 2013
I just got them from the mail yesterday. I am amazed by the sound quality the features and the quality of the mic. My friend online can ear me perfectly and the sound options are great to watch movie listen to music and mainly game. You pay for quality.
+5points
6of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Digg Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)